Share page
1200 Forrest Park Dr.
Nashville, TN 37205
Organization Details

Board Chair

Board Chair Ms. Lisa Manning
Company Affiliation Community Volunteer
Term January 2020 to December 2022

Board Co-Chair

Board Co-Chair Mr. Barry Stowe
Company Affiliation Retired/Community Volunteer
Term January 2020 to December 2022

Board of Directors

Board Members
Name Affiliation Status
Mrs. Nancy Abbott Vanderbilt University Voting
Mrs. Elizabeth Akers Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. Russell Bates Deloitte Voting
Mr. Robert Beckham Partner, WME Nashville Voting
Mr. Charles Bone Bone McAllester Norton Voting
Mrs. Elizabeth Brittain Swan Ball Representative Voting
Mr. Martin Brown Jr. Adams & Reese, LLP Voting
Mr. Andrew Byrd TVV Capital Voting
Mrs. Brenda Corbin Community Volunteer Voting
Ms. Katie Crumbo Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. William T. DeLay Forterra Voting
Ms. Elizabeth Foss Antiques and Garden Show Representative Voting
Ms. Mary Taylor Gallagher GSRM Voting
Judge Alberto Gonzales Belmont University Voting
Mrs. Kate Grayken Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. Carl Haley Jr. Grand Avenue Worldwide Voting
Mr. Randall Harness Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. William Hastings Hastings Architecture Associates Voting
Mr. James Hunt Sr. Mayor, City of Belle Meade Voting
Ms. Shaun Inman Community Volunteer Voting
Mrs. Edith Johnson Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. Michael Johnson PNC Bank Voting
Mr. Owen Kelly Exchange Club of Nashville Representative Voting
Mrs. Carol Kirshner Community Volunteer Voting
Ms. Lisa Kranc Retired/Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. Robert Lipman RS Lipman Company Voting
Mrs. Lisa Manning Community Volunteer Voting
Mrs. Rita Mitchell First Tennessee Bank Voting
Ms. Sherri Neal HCA Healthcare Voting
Ms. Carla Nelson Nashville Electric Service Voting
Ms. Trina Paine Premium PR Voting
Ms. Dee Patel The Hermitage Hotel Voting
Mr. Sam Patel Entrepreneur Voting
Mrs. Deby Pitts Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. Ronald Roberts DVL Seigenthaler Voting
Dr. Michael Spalding Community Volunteer Voting
Mr. Barry Stowe Jackson National Life Voting
Mr. Josh Trusley Ernst & Young Voting
Mrs. Barbara Turner Community Volunteer Voting
Mrs. Barbara White Community Volunteer Voting
Mrs. Elizabeth Wills Diversified Trust Voting
Mrs. Linde Wilson Community Volunteer Voting


Board Term Lengths 3.00 years
Board Term Limits 2
Board Meeting Attendance % 90%
Does the organization have written Board Selection Criteria? No
Does the organization have a written Conflict of Interest Policy? Yes
Percentage Making Monetary Contributions 100%
Percentage of Board Members making In-Kind Contributions 15%
Does the Board include Client Representation? Info Not Provided
Number of Full Board Meetings Annually 4

Standing Committees

Board Governance
Community Outreach / Community Relations
Development / Fund Raising

Risk Management Provisions

Accident and Injury Coverage
Automobile Insurance
Boiler and Machinery
Commercial General Liability
Crime Coverage
Directors and Officers Policy
Disability Insurance
Employee Benefits Liability
Fine Arts and Collectibles
General Property Coverage
Inland Marine and Mobile Equipment
Life Insurance
Liquor Liability
Medical Health Insurance
Property in Transit and off Premises
Umbrella or Excess Insurance
Workers Compensation and Employers' Liability

CEO/Executive Director/Board Comments

Cheekwood's Board of Trustees includes members diverse in race, age, gender, religion, sexual orientation, and gender identities. Board Selection Criteria prioritizes diversity, equity, accessibility, and inclusion with half of its new trustees in 2021 representing diversity. DEAI is an institutional priority, and the current Board remains committed to ensuring the Board composition is moving ever closer to being reflective of the Nashville community.

Cheekwood has engaged a more diverse group of constituents and volunteers through a variety of methods: targeted marketing, outreach program expansion, and new community partnerships. These initiatives helped to expand the Outreach and DEAI Committee (formerly named Outreach Committee) and renewed interest in Cheekwood's established non-Board committees including the African American Community Advisory Committee, El Día de los Muertos Advisory Committee, Teacher Advisory Council, and more. These committees are focused on improving the reach and inclusivity of Cheekwood's programs. Our hope is that over time, relationships beginning with the work of these committees and others to be created will develop into increased interest and engagement with Cheekwood, offering a more diverse pool of strong Board prospects to increase overall diversity of Cheekwood's Board.