Tennessee Arts Academy Foundation
Share page
1900 Belmont Blvd.
Nashville, TN 37212
Organization Details

Board Chair

Board Chair Mr. Stephen Coleman President
Company Affiliation Retired from Cumberland University
Term September 2012 to August 2024

Board Co-Chair

Board Co-Chair Mr. William Watkins President
Company Affiliation Retired Accountant and Co-Founder of Watkins Uiberall Acounting Firm
Term October 2014 to August 2024

Board of Directors

Board Members
Name Affiliation Status
Bud Akers Corporate, Securities, and Entertainment Attorney; Founder and Managing Director of Data Routers, Inc. Voting
Joey Beckford Retired Community Volunteer and Patron of the Arts Voting
Chuck Blackburn Strategic Sales Tactics Voting
Madeline Bridges Retired Voting
Cavit Cheshier Ed.D Retired Executive Director of Tennessee Education Association Voting
Stephen Coleman Retired from Cumberland University Voting
Rena Ellzy Retired educator and currently a Realtor Voting
Solie Fott Ph.D Retired, Austin Peay State University Dept. of Music Chairman (22 years) and Director of Orchestra (40 years) Voting
Bobby Frost Retired Voting
Brandon Herrenbruck VP; Steinway Piano Gallery, Nashville and Knoxville Voting
James Holcomb Retired Voting
Patricia Hudson Retired Voting
Kami Lunsford Karns Middle School, Knoxville TN choral music educator Exofficio
Michael McBride Voting
Flowerree McDonough Bearden High School Fine Arts Dept. Chair; Visual Art Instructor; Artist Voting
Ron Meers Retired Educator and former TMEA Exec. Dir. Voting
Michael Meise Attorney, Michael Meise Law Voting
Jeff Myrick Parallon, subsidiary of HCA Voting
Diana Poe Tennessee State University Music Educator Voting
Wayne Qualls Education Consultant; Former TN Commissioner of Ed. Voting
Jim Rieniets INSBANK Voting
Patricia Smith Retired Educator and Arts Advocate Voting
Thane Smith Real Estate Developer and Businessman Voting
J. Stamper Resident Emeritus and KHS Global Advisor Voting
Todd Tressler Voting
William Watkins Jr., CPA Watkins Uiberall Accounting Firm Co-Founder Voting
Talmage Watts Assistant Tennessee State Attorney General Voting
Mr. Joe West Producer and Songwriter Voting
Andre Yovanovitch Voting

Advisory Board Members
Name Affiliation Status
Stephanie Block Broadway Musical Theatre Actress and Vocalist NonVoting
Chris Brubeck Professional Musician and Composer NonVoting
George Clinton Hollywood Film Composer NonVoting
Jason Danieley Broadway singer and actor NonVoting
Joe DePietro Tony Award Winning Broadway Writer and Lyricist NonVoting
Audrey Flack Photorealist, Sculptor and Painter NonVoting
Luke Frazier NonVoting
Giancarlo Guerrero Conductor of the Nashville Symphony NonVoting
Kem Hinton FAIA Tuck Hinton Architects PLC Co-Founder NonVoting
Rupert Holmes Writer, Composer and Lyricist NonVoting
Cherry Jones Tony and Emmy Award winning Actress; Founding member of the American Repertory Theatre in Cambridge, MA NonVoting
Libby Larsen Composer NonVoting
Dan Lawson NonVoting
Aaron Lazar Broadway Musical Theatre Performer and Television actor NonVoting
David Leong Virginia Commonwealth University Theatre Chair NonVoting
Andrew Lippa Composer, Lyricist, Performer, Producer and Writer NonVoting
Richard Maltby Jr. Director, Lyracist, Producer and Writer NonVoting
Dean Pitchford Oscar, Tony, Grammy and Golden Globe Winning Broadway and Hollywood Lyricist and Writer; Award winning Children's Books Author NonVoting
Jay Russell Hollywood Film Director NonVoting
Odessa Settles Professional Musician, Songwriter, Singer; former President of Nashville Symphony Chorus NonVoting
Doc Severinsen Musician and Bandleader NonVoting
Richard Sherman Oscar and Grammy Award Winning Walt Disney Composer and Lyricist NonVoting
Linda Soloman Award Winning Photojournalist, Author, Photographer for the Academy Awards; National 'Pictures of Hope' Student Photography Project Founder NonVoting
Steve Spiegel Theatrical Rights Worldwide CEO and President NonVoting
Susan Stauter Director of the San Francisco School for the Performing Arts NonVoting
Michael Stern Music Director and Conductor of the Kansas City Symphony; Founding Artistic Director and Principal Conductor of the IRIS Orchestra, Germantown TN NonVoting
Hope Stringer Community Volunteer NonVoting
Charles Strouse Oscar, Grammy and Tony Award Winning Composer NonVoting
Bennett Tarleton Retired; Patron of the Arts NonVoting
Jordan Urbach Musician/Philanthropist NonVoting
Mr. Alton White Broadway actor NonVoting


Board Term Lengths 3.00 years
Board Term Limits 2
Board Meeting Attendance % 88%
Does the organization have written Board Selection Criteria? Yes
Does the organization have a written Conflict of Interest Policy? Yes
Percentage Making Monetary Contributions 100%
Percentage of Board Members making In-Kind Contributions 100%
Does the Board include Client Representation? Info Not Provided
Number of Full Board Meetings Annually 4

Standing Committees

Board Development / Board Orientation
Communications / Promotion / Publicity / Public Relations
Development / Fund Development / Fund Raising / Grant Writing / Major Gifts
Fiscal Affairs
Special Events (Golf Tournament, Walk / Run, Silent Auction, Dinner / Gala)
Strategic Planning / Strategic Direction
Vendor Fair

Risk Management Provisions

Crime Coverage
Directors and Officers Policy

CEO/Executive Director/Board Comments

There are two primary challenges for the TAAF Board of Directors: 1) The Board needs to work harder to diversify and to have more representation from all areas of the state and work with the TAA Alumni Association officers to establish effective goals for the coming two-year term. 2) The Board needs to work out a plan to ensure that all Board members can attend or minimally participate in the four yearly meetings. Both issues are being addressed. The executive committee will meet and identify potential members who have an interest in the arts who will help bring more diversity to the Board. Additionally, current Board members from under-represented areas of the state will be asked to form a committee to identify potential members from their area of the state. Finally, every two years, TAA alumni officers are appointed. A current alumni member is serving as president, a set of Bylaws was created, regional representatives are recruited, and policies were adopted to ensure that an alumni member will have a permanent seat on the TAAF Board of Directors. The executive committee will consider proposals to streamline decision making, create more flexible policies, and to make participation in meetings more convenient for current board members.