Nashville Symphony Association
Share page
One Symphony Place
Nashville, TN 37201
Organization Details

Board Chair

Board Chair Ms. Pamela Carter
Company Affiliation Cummins Corporation (Retired)
Term August 2020 to July 2023

Board of Directors

Board Members
Name Affiliation Status
Ms. Melinda Balser Vanderbilt University Voting
Father Dexter Brewer Christ the King Church Exofficio
Mr. Steven Brown Nashville Symphony Musician Voting
Mrs. Pamela Carter Retired Exofficio
Ms. Mary Cavarra Ingram Industries Inc. Voting
Ms. Michelle Collins Nashville Symphony musician Voting
Mrs. Carol Daniels Tennessee Press Association Voting
Mr. Keith Davis Pinnacle Financial Partners Voting
Mr. Tra is Dunn Brown Brothers Harriman Voting
Mr. Rodney Essig Creative Artist Agency Voting
Mr. Christopher Farrell Nashville Symphony Musician Voting
Mr. Andrew Giacobone Retired Executive Voting
Mr. Anthony Giarratana Giarratana, LLC Voting
Mr. Edward Goodrich Caterpillar Financial Services Exofficio
Ms. Brenda Griffin Griffin Investments Voting
Mr. Austin Hatley Seed Six Ventures Voting
Mr. Derek Hawkes Nashville Symphony Exofficio
Mr. Michael Hayes C.B. Ragland Company Exofficio
Ms. Vicki Horne Community Volunteer Voting
Mrs. Emily Humphreys Voting
Mrs. Lee Ann Ingram Voting
Mrs. Martha Ingram Ingram Industries Inc. Exofficio
Mr. Orrin Ingram Exofficio
Dr. Edmund Jackson PhD HCA Healthcare Voting
Mr. William Jones Jr. Turner Law Offices, P.C. Voting
Ms. Amanda Kane Jarrard Phillips Cate & Hancock Voting
Mrs. Laura Kimbrell TKO Artist Management Voting
Mr. George Lee III Real Time Neuromonitoring, Real Time Tele-Epilepsy Consultants Voting
Mrs. Sandra Lipman Remax Homes & Estates, The Lipman Group Exofficio
Mrs. Cynthia Matthews US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission Voting
Mrs. Victoria McCluggage Voting
Mr. Andy Miller Nashville Symphony Chorus President Voting
Mr. Richard Miller Earl Swensson Associates, Inc Exofficio
Mr. Pat Murphy Retired Voting
Mrs. Phylanice Nashe J.D. MaxxContent Voting
Mr. Robert Olsen AutoZone, Inc (Retired) Exofficio
Mrs. Victoria Pao Angel Investors Voting
Mr. Jeremie Papin Nissan North America, Inc. Voting
Dr. Mark Peacock Mid State Pulmonary Associates Exofficio
Mr. W. Phillips Jr. Bass, Berry & Sims Exofficio
Ms. Jennifer Puryear Community Volunteer Voting
Dr. Janice Riley-Burt Family Medicine Physician Voting
Dr. E. Sanford Tennessee State University Voting
Ms. Carolyn Schott Sherrard Roe Voigt & Harbison PLC Voting
Mr. James Seabury III Enterprise Electric, LLC Exofficio
Mrs. Teresa Sebastian The Dominion Asset Group Voting
Mr. Michael Sposato Caterpillar Financial Services Voting
Mr. Karl Sprules AllianceBernstein Voting
Mr. Mark Tillinger Retired Voting
Mr. James Todd Hagan & Todd Voting
Mr. Alan Valentine Nashville Symphony President and CEO Exofficio
Peri Widener Voting
Mrs. Gail Williams Voting
Ms. Betsy Wills Courage Capital Management Exofficio
Ms. Clare Yang Nashville Symphony Musician Voting
Ms. Shirley Zeitlin Zeitlin & Co., Realtors Voting


Board Term Lengths 3.00 years
Board Term Limits 2
Board Meeting Attendance % 85%
Does the organization have written Board Selection Criteria? Yes
Does the organization have a written Conflict of Interest Policy? Yes
Percentage Making Monetary Contributions 100%
Percentage of Board Members making In-Kind Contributions 2%
Does the Board include Client Representation? Info Not Provided
Number of Full Board Meetings Annually 4

Standing Committees

Board Governance
Community Outreach / Community Relations
Development / Fund Raising
External Affairs
Facilities Development
Strategic Planning

Risk Management Provisions

Accident and Injury Coverage
Automobile Insurance
Commercial General Liability
Computer Equipment and Software
Crime Coverage
Directors and Officers Policy
Disability Insurance
Fine Arts and Collectibles
General Property Coverage
Life Insurance
Medical Health Insurance
Property in Transit and off Premises
Special Event Liability
Umbrella or Excess Insurance
Workers Compensation and Employers' Liability

CEO/Executive Director/Board Comments

The Nashville Symphony is governed by a 56-member Board of Directors comprised of a cross-section of the community. Board members agree to a set of mutual expectations when they accept a seat on the Nashville Symphony Board of Directors:

1. To make a significant, personally meaningful contribution to the Annual Campaign.
2. Leverage personal and corporate influence to secure individual contributions and sponsorship support for the Annual Campaign.
3. Purchase subscriptions (preferably the Classical Series), attend concerts, and bring guests to enjoy the Nashville Symphony's artistic excellence.
4. Attend Board meetings and actively participate in policy discussions and decisions.
5. Serve on at least one committee to support the artistic and cultural mission of the orchestra.
6. Attend at least one educational activity or event to better understand the organization's work in the community.
7. Advocate on behalf of the orchestra to the community.